Call for Nomination for CALA Midwest Chapter Officer

Dear CALA Midwest Chapter Members: According to the CALA Bylaws, Article VI-Section 3 and Article VII-Section 2.5, the CALA Midwest Chapter Nomination Committee invites you to nominate your fellow chapter members or self-nominate yourself for the following position: 2018-2019 Vice President/President-Elect position (1-year term) All nominees are welcome to provide: A biographical sketch of no more than 250 words that […]

» Read more

Free Webinar: Tackling Fake News

Wednesday, November 1, 2017 1 p.m. Eastern | 12 p.m. Central Everyone is talking about fake news. People are more aware than ever that when they see a “news” story, they need to dig a lot deeper than the headline or sometimes even the article to decipher whether what they are reading is fact or speculation, opinion, or outright fiction. In our role as […]

» Read more

Free Webinar: LIS Research in Central Asia

The ACRL International Perspectives Discussion Group will host a free webinar discussion on Central Asia. Here’s the program and info:   Title: Library/Information Sciences Research Experiences in Central Asia   Date/Time: August 7, Monday at 9 am PST / 11 am CST / 12 pm EST   Webinar Links:  Event Login Page:  http://ala.adobeconnect.com/ewq793y770ms/event/login.html Event Registration Page:  http://ala.adobeconnect.com/ewq793y770ms/event/registration.html   Summary: This webinar will cover […]

» Read more

Free Webinar: ALA Annual Tech Wrap-Up

Friday, July 7, 2017 1 p.m. Eastern | 12 p.m. Central 11 a.m. Mountain | 10 a.m. Pacific If you’ve ever been to an ALA Annual Conference, you know that there’s always a lot of tech to see and never enough time to see it all. Whether you were unable to attend this year or you just want to get […]

» Read more

Free webinar: Design Thinking

IFLA/ALA  Webinar-July 6, 2017 When:  07/06/2017 1:00 PM (Central Time) Time Zone:  (GMT-06:00) Central Time (US and Canada) To join the meeting: http://ala.adobeconnect.com/rzmc13zgtfu9/   How can libraries adopt “design thinking” to improve their library services, programming and spaces?  What do libraries need to do to prepare staff for the change? According to Tim Brown, president and CEO of IDEO, “Design thinking is […]

» Read more

Travel Awards Available for National Conference of African American Librarians and Reforma National Conference — Apply by June 13, 2017

The Association of Research Libraries (ARL) is offering two $1,000 travel awards to attend the National Conference of African American Librarians (NCAAL), August 9–13, 2017, in Atlanta, Georgia, and two $1,000 travel awards to attend the Reforma National Conference, September 7–9, 2017, in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Funds from the travel awards may be used to cover the cost of […]

» Read more

ARL Fellowship for Digital and Inclusive Excellence 2017–2018 Call for Applications — Deadline July 13, 2017

The Association of Research Libraries (ARL) is accepting applications for the 2017–2018 Fellowship for Digital and Inclusive Excellence, a program designed to introduce undergraduate students from historically underrepresented ethnic and racial groups at ARL member institutions to the library and information science discipline. The program offers a paid internship with a focus on digital stewardship in a partner ARL library […]

» Read more

Attend now! — Success Characteristics of Asian American Academic Library Leaders

“Success Characteristics of Asian American Academic Library Leaders” By Dr. Binh Le Join us online at CALA Professional Development 2017 About the session: Asian Americans are severely underrepresented in leadership positions in American academic libraries. Many factors have attributed to this phenomenon, including racism, language barrier, and lack of collective power.  Instead of discussing these factors, this presentation examines some […]

» Read more
1 2 3 7