Free Webinar: LIS Research in Central Asia

The ACRL International Perspectives Discussion Group will host a free webinar discussion on Central Asia. Here’s the program and info:


Title: Library/Information Sciences Research Experiences in Central Asia


Date/Time: August 7, Monday at 9 am PST / 11 am CST / 12 pm EST


Webinar Links: 

Event Login Page:

Event Registration Page:


Summary: This webinar will cover experiences from academic librarians who have spent time working/conducting LIS research in Central Asia. From Kazakhstan to Kyrgyzstan, Central Asia is a growing region with vast opportunities for research engagement. Learn more about the speakers’ research experiences and interests in the region!



Celia Emmelhainz, Anthropology and Qualitative Research Librarian at UC Berkeley


Anita Walz, Open Education, Copyright & Scholarly Communication Librarian at Virginia Tech served as a Fulbright Specialist Fellow at American University of Central Asia in Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan in April 2017. In this brief presentation she will discuss the Fulbright Specialist program, her approach to serving as a specialist/consultant on open education and open educational resources, observations about libraries in newly democratic post-soviet Kyrgyzstan. She will also discuss the goals of a collaborative research project undertaken with Director of the University Library at the American University of Central Asia.